Research experience for School Psych PhD programs

mcg678

Does anyone have any insight on how heavily past research experience is weighted for school psychology PhD programs? I'm looking at apply to programs during the fall application cycle, but so far I haven't had the opportunity to do any research. I am currently working on finishing up my MA in Counseling Psych and will be doing my year-long counseling practicum in a school starting this fall. I've been working full-time while finishing school, which is why it has been difficult to find research experience so far. :/  Also, my grad GPA is 3.97 and I'll be retaking the GRE this summer (old scores- 152Q, 155V, 4.5AWA).

Essentially my question is this: will the fact that I have no research experience (aside from a couple research classes in undergrad, and stats in both undergrad and grad school) keep me completely out of the running for PhD programs? I'm hoping that my other stats will boost me up, but I also want to be realistic.

Thanks for any input you can provide!

It might not keep you completely out of the running, but not having any research experience (working in research labs or on your own honors thesis) will almost certainly affect your chances to a large degree.

Your research experience and letters of recommendation from people actively doing research is (barring original research you've done on your own or in collaboration with others) is really the only way a program can judge your ability to do research.

At least for other areas of psychology, research experience might be one of the most important factors over all for the success of an applicant.

However, on the up side, a lack of research experience (while taking time) is also something that's possible to fix by getting some RA or Lab Manager position.

Edited by C is for Caps Locks