So overwhelmed!

jaaaayciee

I'm applying to Master's programs later this year in the fall for the fall 2018 year. I've had my list of schools planned out for quite some time but now that I have less than a year to get everything in, I think now its all starting to sink in. I just started studying for the GRE (my date is June 3), and the math portion is already murdering me. I'm afraid that my professors I plan on asking for LoRs don't consider me close enough to them to ask, and I'm just genuinely afraid that I won't be able to get in to school. There's so many things that go into graduate school and it's so overwhelming. However, any help I've been receiving from everybody on here makes things so much easier.

I hope I'm not the only one who's so overwhelmed.

I hear ya. I overwhelmed myself to the point that I only applied to 2 of the 8 schools I considered. I chickened out of the other 6 because I felt my application wouldn't be strong enough.

On the bright side, not getting in on your first application round isn't the end of the world. One friend of mine got rejected from a PhD program he really wanted to attend. He was upset of course, but he ended up having an amazing internship experience with the CDC in Atlanta instead. When one door closes, another one opens! And I'm sure he'll apply for a PhD again someday.

On 3/8/2017 at 9:33 PM, jaaaayciee said: