Decided but not funded

Dwr

Because I didn't get the only funding for Oxford I could apply to as an overseas student, I am just bawling like a child. Linguistics does not get any funding unless you are doing something politically trendy.

My funded (and rather prestigious) option is on a horrible continent. I love my potential supervisors and some of the work going on at the department, but that is it. The place I cannot cope with.

I am just crying all the time.

Edited by Dwr

Take your time to mourn for this year, but then it'll be time to regroup and look for options that have better funding options for next year. Those do exist in linguistics, but you have to know where to find them. Stay strong! 

(And in case this helps, look for posts in the Linguistics board from a not-at-all-happy former Oxford student, to see that you may have dodged a bullet!)

Thank you, but I have to go. I cannot take any time off. I believe I could possibly apply when I am already some way into the funded program, but reference letters and that you do not stick to what you have started, I don't think it would work. Maybe even hurt me. I would sell my soul to the devil to get funding for Oxford.