Scheduling First Semester Classes

hantoo

I finally accepted an offer (Woo!) and am already preparing to schedule my first semester of courses. In addition to my RA position, I'll be taking three courses my first semester. One is a mandatory pro-seminar so I don't need to worry about that, but I am free to choose the additional two. I am a cultural anthropology student, and in looking at the course catalogue, I see there are quite a few classes that are very relevant to my proposed research that I think would be really interesting to me.

I am definitely going to contact my POI for advice on what classes would be best for my first semester, but for current grad students, what types of classes did you schedule for your first semester/year? Would it be better to schedule courses with a somewhat broad focus like "Ethnographic Field Methods" over a course with a much more specific topical focus? Obviously I have quite a few years to take classes, but I want to make smart scheduling decisions for my first year in the program.

Let me know what you think!

Congrats on accepting an offer, exciting stuff!  If you don't mind me asking, where will you be headed in the fall?

As for which classes to take, I think your advisor will be super helpful.  It also depends on your prior training and what your project will look like.  For instance, my project and proposed field site is in an area where I'm not super familiar with the language, so my first semester I'll probably take a more introductory language course.  On the other hand, I'm taking an Ethnographic Field Methods course right now as I finish up my Master's, so I'll probably take something more topically focused instead of just "Foundations of Anthropological Theory" or something along those lines.  But yeah, in general I think your advisor will be able to help your sort this out.