U Washington 2010

3tents

I am also a Washington resident who applied to their sociology program and one of the graduate program staff told me this about a month ago through email, ‘The admissions committee begins review of applications mid-January and we expect to convey decisions to applicants no later than the last week of February.” Hope this helps.

Does UW have that sort of reputation? What do they usually look for in an applicant?

I went to UW as an undergrad and I talked too many of the professors in the department about what the program was like and all of them said that it is super quantitative. One professor in particular told me that there are only a few people who have a social interest in sociology within the department.

I went to UW as an undergrad and I talked too many of the professors in the department about what the program was like and all of them said that it is super quantitative. One professor in particular told me that there are only a few people who have a social interest in sociology within the department.

I can't say that is bad news for me, but I hate waiting...

I can't say that is bad news for me, but I hate waiting...

i wouldn't be too quick to discount schools that are "too quant" or the other way around -- every sociologist should be trained in all the methodology of their field, and when you do your own research and work on your own dissertation you find advisors that make sense for you. some quant profs are AMAZING advisors for both quant and qual work, and honestly if you're the minority in the department as far as methodology or interests go, you might stand out a little more among the few profs there who do that kind of work. visit first, then talk with the professors and students.