Questions about job prospects, clinical psychology, and GRE's.

Dr. Stuck

Hi guys!

I apologize in advance for the long post, I am just seeking some answers to questions that I really want to know :) 

So I am an undergrad psychology student in Canada with a GPA of 3.9/4.0 and aspirations of obtaining a doctorate degree. I have known since i was young that my ultimate goal would be to get my PhD, but I really do not know what i should do. Something that really interests me is a career in clinical child psychology! However, I hear that it is insanely tough to get into a PhD program for this. My grades are good, but after hearing some people discuss how hard it is to get in, I just seem to have no confidence in my ability to achieve this goal. I do not have any research experience yet, but i am finishing my last two years of my UG degree at the university in my home town (University of New Brunswick) and this school has a MA/PhD program in clinical psych so I imagine I should be able to hopefully get some experience in the lab over the next two years? 

Something else that has always interested me a lot is sociology. I have to decide whether to go down the clinical psych route or do an honours in sociology and become a professor. I am told that after obtaining a PhD in sociology, it is next to impossible to get a job as a tenure track professor given the lack of opportunities now. Is this true? Would clinical psych be a "safer" route to go, financially speaking? 

Something else I am wondering about is the GRE's. With a lot of hard work and studying, is this a test that one can improve a fair amount on? I have some learning disabilities that make standardized testing somewhat difficult for me (but certainly not impossible), so perhaps I could even qualify for certain accommodations on the test if need be/ if they are offered? 

Anyways, this post of sort of all over the place :lol: But if anyone has any answers they could offer, I would greatly appreciate it :)