How to stand out in a SOP

Hey everyone! 

One thing that I see emphasized regarding personal statements for graduate school is standing out, and being unique. There is one event that I think was the most influential in my life academically, professionally, and personally, so I would love to write about it. However, I'm not sure if it's unique enough to put in an application!  

I studied abroad for one year in Rome, Italy, and was able to grow as a historian, academic, and person during this time. Studying abroad is pretty common, so would this even stand out to admissions counselors?  

TIA!

Edited by webbks

Oh brother.

Are you thinking of applying to master's programs, or to PhDs?

I don't actually know how master's program admissions work—there were no viable master's options for me (I have weird interests). Some of them may request mostly a personal statement.

However, for PhDs and many master's programs, your admission will not be based primarily on a "personal statement." Rather, it will be based on a STATEMENT OF PURPOSE. That may sound equivalent, but it is very different! A statement of purpose is basically a cover letter: the two most important things to get across are why your research project is interesting, and why you are qualified to do it. You're right that it helps for your research project to be interesting and novel (although "unique" is maybe too high a bar). People like reading about interesting approaches to things. I don't think you necessarily have to prove that you personally are this shining beacon of fascination, or that you are unique. Some places do require both a statement of purpose (research focused) and a personal statement (somewhat college-essay-like). Your application will be judged primarily on the former, however.