Need advice/reccomendations on PhD programs

Hello. I am an upcoming senior and I am seeking advice on statistics PhD programs. I am interested in applied stats and machine learning. My profile is very weak compared to what I saw on this site. I have no research experience and no letters of rec since I don't really have any relationships with any professors. So would it be better to take a gap year and focus on research experience and letters of rec during my senior year, then apply the year after. I am leaning towards a gap year, and I hope I can get a job related to stats during that time. Here is my profile:

Undergrad Institution: Top 10 public university according to US news
Major(s): Math and Stats (double)
Minor(s): 
GPA: 3.68
Type of Student: Male, Domestic
GRE General Test: I have not taken it yet. Probably fall
Programs Applying: PhD in Statistics

Research Experience: Absolutely zero research experience

Awards/Honors/Recognitions: Dean's List

Pertinent Activities or Jobs: N/A

Letters of Recommendation: none

Math and Stat Courses:
Lower Division: A's in Calc 1-3, Differential Equations, Linear Algebra

Upper Division: A's in Intro Analysis, Real Analysis I, Graph Theory, Operations Research, Linear Algebra 1-2 ,  Complex Variables, PDE's, Probability and Stats 1-2, Abstract Algebra I
A- in Regression Analysis, Stochastic Processes II, Topology
B+ in Real Analysis II, Real Analysis III, Stochastic Processes I
And a C- in Abstract Algebra II  lol. I can retake this again to get a better grade and boost my GPA. Is it worth it?

Applying to Where:   I have no idea. I was hoping to get recommendations from you all.

Also should I take some grad courses my senior year. I have the option to take a measure theory course for probability, a grad course in data mining and time series, and also just grad real analysis. Or would it better to focus on research if I can get a position with a professor. Or both??