Very low quant GRE

Hi everyone,

I took the GRE on Friday and got a dismal (unofficial) score:

159 V 143 Q

I studied for two months, signed up for Magoosh, and really tried my best, but I’m almost 38 and haven’t done any math since my last year of high school almost 20 years ago.

My undergrad GPA is more or less 3.2, graduate GPA 3.92. I have over a decade of experience working as a foreign correspondent and editor in Asia, and waiting to publish a paper on conflict management in the South China Sea in a peer-reviewed journal.

I am not planning to apply to any of the top schools, but do you think I still have a chance at any school at all? I’ve considered retaking the test but I really doubt I’ll be able to improve my quant score that much.

Please be brutally honest with your advice.

Thank you!

P.S. Applying to PhD programs to focus on IR (geopolitics, not much quant analysis needed)

Edited by csantamir