Reflexivity/Positionality - being an outsider as a researcher

Adelaide9216

Hello everyone,

(I guess this post will speak more to those of you who are in the social sciences.) 

I am starting a master's thesis next Fall and I have chosen to study an aspect of the reality of indigenous peoples of Canada. Although my own identity intersects with different marginalized groups (I am a woman of color), I feel somewhat uncomfortable about my research topic - even if I am 100% interested in this topic - because I do not belong to that community and I will never consider myself an expert on their reality. 

I did a poster presentation at a congress a few months ago and it was on my master's thesis topic. I realized that I was uncomfortable whenever I had people come up to me and ask me questions about my poster as if I was an expert on indigenous peoples in Canada. I feel like indigenous peoples are the experts of their own lives and I do not consider myself as a "spokesperson" for them because I have not been given that role.

I am saying this because in Canada, there has been lots and lots of research on indigenous peoples made by non-indigenous researchers. There are many reasons to this (colonialism, opression, etc.) but it is also because not many indigenous peoples get to finish high school because of many types of systemic barriers that are rooted in our history as a country towards this group. I sometimes feel like an imposteur, as if I am "stealing" the spot of an indigenous person to speak for themselves over their own reality and be empowered by doing so instead of having an outsider doing it for them.

Has anyone ever felt like this? Am I the only one?