I flunked the GRE

ac95

In a post from two months ago, I claimed that I could probably score between a 157-160 on both sections of the GRE (though I'm aiming as high as possible). I was never a strong standardized test taker, but after around six weeks of studying and scoring around 320 on my practice tests (on my most recent practice test, I scored a 158 on both sections), I felt confident that I could score around a 320.

On the actual test, I flunked and scored a 152 V, 155 Q, and 5.0 AW. To put this in perspective, the first practice test I took before I started studying, I got a 152 V, 153 Q. I know I can score around a 160 on both sections of the actual test, and I attributed a great deal (though not all) of my poor score to nerves. I read articles regarding test-taking strategies to ameliorate any nervousness I might have the day of the test, but unfortunately, my score speaks for itself.

I'm looking for advice from people who have recently taken the GRE and might be/have been in similar situations. Has anyone else flunked their first time taking the GRE? What is the best approach to studying? I've been mainly self-teaching and have considered signing up for Kaplan's online test-prep. Is it worth the cost? I would really appreciate it!

Hi,

I took my GRE almost 2 weeks ago, and got all my results back a few days ago.

I did self study for 5 weeks before I took the exam.

My study strategy was using the manhattan prep (i just bought online books and used my kindle on phone/ipad/mac for portability). For verbal, I used the manhattan prep advanced/essential vocabs & strategies for verbal Qs, and for quant, I selected manhattan prep books depending on my weakness, but with hindsight would've bought them all. 

I took around 7 mock tests (2 free from the ets website and bought 5 on manhattan prep). I found that these tests really reflected the real test.