Move back & work or apply to grad school?

MattDU

Hi guys,

I'm working on applying to grad school and I was wondering if you could give me some insight. I graduated double majoring in International Studies & French from 2012-2015 and then had to move back home for family reasons. Since then, I have had essentially no work experience that pertains to what I would like to do for the rest of my life. However, I had a bunch of academic research and work experience for various organizations while in school. I'm at a standstill because I think I should attain some more relevant work experience before going back to school. I'm interested in a variety of programs, most notably in International Development, Urban Planning, and Sociology. I'm reading everywhere than an MPA is a waste of time unless I'm like 30 and have ten years of experience, so the likelihood of getting an MPA is dwindling, but it seems the same way for most Master's degrees?

I have already successfully requested recommendations from three professors and am waiting to ask for a fourth specifically for a PhD.  I'm returning to Colorado next year, which is essentially non-negotiable because that's where I would like to be for the next few years. Given that I can receive in-state tuition for public colleges (CU Denver and CU Boulder) in the area after moving back for a year, would it be in my best interest to just move back there and work, or should I apply to schools this Fall and hope I have some success?

Note: I've already taken the GRE and plan to take it again. The GRE (as it stands) and my lack of work experience (I am just 23, also) are definitely going to be my two weaknesses of my application.

Thanks.

an MPA is a waste of time unless I'm like 30 and have ten years of experience

...or until you're ~25 and have 2-4 years of work experience, like most matriculating MPA students?

but it seems the same way for most Master's degrees?