Feeling lost

JungianShadow

Hey there Grad Cafe, 

I'm 26 and I graduated college two years ago with a bachelor's in science majoring in psychology and minoring in neuroscience with a 3.9 GPA.  I volunteered at two labs in IO psych and neuroscience, because of the lack of openings for volunteers at my college for one year and then I  took my GRE in hopes of applying to a PhD in clinical psychology and got a verb of 159 and a Quant of 147. During my last year I was able to have my name in three separate poster projects that were presented at the APA national convention and also personally presented two other posters in Long Beach,  California for the society of personality and social psychology.   That year I applied to around 8 lower tier PhD programs, but did not get accepted to any of them. Earlier this year I religiously applied to different research positions around the nation to boost my resume, but only landed two interviews and was not accepted into either. I've been considering going for a masters in counseling as a stepping stone, but fear the debt won't be worth it and fear even more that I will again not get in after putting time and money into the application process. 

Any advice would be more than welcome and greatly appreciated. Where should I go from here? 

I'm absolutely baffled as to how you could have had such little luck with a 3.9, lab work, and poster presentations? I suppose your Quant score is somewhat low...but still? Have you considered applying to school that do not require the GRE as a way of circumventing this issue?

Try not to be discouraged. Clinical psychology is one of the most difficult field to get into because of just the sheer number of applicants. With all of this experience, I'm curious, what are your research goals? Do you have a direct focus area? Also, do you have a lot of experience with the statistical analysis portion?