Should I go for an MA first / retake GRE? Advice needed

TsarandProphet

Dear all,

I am a sophomore student at an Israeli university. My mother tongue is Hebrew. I am interested in attending a top-15 program in Russian History, and I have delimited my range of potential advisors, which resulted in a list of about 10 institutions.

My GPA is 90.02 currently, but I have studied the second semester while being under conscription which has hurt my grades. I believe I will graduate with a GPA of 92 (out of 100), since rarely do we get grades above 95 here. 

I have published one paper in a German journal, one more is under peer-review, two chapters in books (one is peer-edited), and 14 book reviews in scholarly journals. Moreover, I speak all the relevant languages for my field of study (Russia and the Balkans): Russian in a (tested) Advanced High level, Serbian, and Modern Greek.

Today I took my GRE. Don't know about writing yet, but my verbal and quantitative scores were both 161. 

As far as LORs are concerned, I count on 3 professors: two know me for all years of study and I'll take a seminar with them (which will result in a paper of 35 pages each) and one professor I'll only meet this year and I'll take a seminar with her two.

Two questions:

1. Would you retake the GRE?
  2. Should I go for an MA in Israel and then apply, or may I apply in September of my third (and final) year?

Thanks!

Your native language will be taken into consideration.  I think you may need to take the TOEFL as well for a US university.  You'll need to check on the requirements.  I know of israelis who have successfully been accepted in top PhD programs with degrees from TAU and Hebrew U.