How are my GRE scores?

mfafiction2019

So I took the test today and got 163V/150Q, which met my personal goal of getting at least 160 on verbal and at least 150 on quant (I feel pretty proud of my quant score since before I started studying, I would score in the low 140s on quant). I know that most programs like to see better quant scores but one of my LORs is from my undergrad stats professor (I made an A in the class; stats is actually the only kind of math that I'm fairly good at/don't mind) and in my SOP I talk about wanting to learn statistics, even though I'm primarily a qual person/ethnographer (so I guess I show initiative)? I've read a lot that excellent GRE scores don't necessarily get you in but bad ones can keep you out, so I hope that my scores pass whatever cutoff that departments might have. My cumulative UG GPA is mediocre (3.3) but the last 2 years of undergrad are 3.75 (my UG didn't do + and -, so if you got a B, that showed up as a 3.0 on your transcript, even if it was an 89.9) and my GPA for my Master's coursework is basically a 4.0. What do you guys think? Everyone around me is telling me these are good scores, but I'm still extremely nervous, based on my UG cumulative GPA. 

11 hours ago, nywnorb120191 said: