How are TA positions typically filled?

Wackstrom

Noob question alert, but as a new grad student, I'm getting antsy about finding a TA position next year since the chance of funding is very low. Are TA positions typically offered by professors directly to students they already have in mind? Or are they posted as an open listing for anyone to apply? And is it proper for students to directly contact professors prior to the following term to see if they can TA for a specific class?

This depends on the specific department. Why don't you contact the department admin and/or DGS to ask? 

In my department, for example, students submit their preferences for which class they want to TA. Professors can express a preference if more than one student wants to TA their class. Sometimes they can also 'nominate' someone. But there's no shortage of positions in my department, so it's probably different from yours. Ask around. 

Like fuzzy said, it's best to ask the department. But I found that there are two general scenarios:

1. There's no shortage of positions and the main goal of the TA assignment process is to make assignments to optimize interests/productivity/scheduling/preferences.