Composition & Rhetoric - GRE low Q, high V

Hi, I'll be applying soon to doctoral programs in Composition and Rhetoric. I actually posted for the first time a few months ago with the plan to apply to lit programs. Someone mentioned looking into C&R. In time I did, and I decided that's a better fit for my academic interests and background. So thanks already for the helpful advice!

I just took the practice timed GRE that ETS offers. I scored 169(V) and 151(Q).  I know my Q is on the low side, but to be honest I was pleased it wasn't worse! I'm in my 30s and haven't studied math in about 15 years. I'm beyond rusty. As far as V goes, years back I scored similarly on the SATs and LSAT, so I think that's an accurate score for me, give or take.

I'm studying right now for the math section, but I'm scheduled to take the GRE in exactly two weeks and realistically I'm not expecting much of an improvement there. I'm just hoping I don't do worse on the real deal.

My question is for those who know about C&R admissions...Do you think my low Q score will hurt me? Would Q be a decisive factor when choosing between me and someone with similar stats, or is it pretty much V and other aspects of the application that drive their decision?

Thanks in advance for your insights. :)

I think it's important to note a few things here:

• For the most part, only the V is important but only to make it pass the cutoff. One is not likely to get admitted just because they have a 169V vs another person who has a 166V. Grad School admissions in the humanities does not value test scores as much as an LSAT committee would.
  • The Grad School might have specific requirements in order to be eligible for certain fellowships. These decisions are made after the individual program decides to admit you.
  • Generally speaking, Rhetoric and Composition programs don't value the Verbal score as much as English Literature or Philosophy programs do.