Policy schools in NYC

nycpolicy

Hi all 

I am an international student currently living in NYC. I graduated with a degree in Economics from the best school in my home country, and have worked in the education sector there for the last three years. I am now based in NYC and would like to apply to MPA/IR programs for Masters. I need to live in NYC for personal reasons and other than Columbia SIPA and NYU Wagner, which other schools are options for me?

I got a decent GRE score, >80 percentile in both sections, but nothing mind-blowing. Apart from that, I have a decent GPA, good work experience and great volunteer positions at school. I have been very lucky to travel over the world as the child of a diplomat and my recommendation letters should be pretty neat. 

Of course SIPA is the dream, but there is no guarantee of getting in. Plus, applying only to two schools does not fit well with my anxious self, so I need backups. I'm putting below the schools I've looked up so far. Any and all advice on their programs would be much appreciated, along with if there are any other schools that I am missing. I am okay travelling 1-1:30 hours each side to get to school and don't mind if its in another state - 

1. The New School

2. CUNY (Baruch seems to be the best of the lot)

3. Fordham 

4. Rutgers Newark campus

CUNY Baruch has a great MPA program. It doesn't have the name recognition of SIPA or NYU, but it's highly ranked, very affordable, and has a lot of interesting policymakers on as faculty. It's a really solid program, from everything I've heard.

I also know John Jay is supposed to have a good MPA. 

What specifically do you want to do with your degree?

• 2 weeks later...