Any international students applying for Columbia University in CS? Need help with applications!

ANerdHasNoName

Hi, I apologise if I'm posting in the wrong place but application deadlines are approaching and I'm freaking out!

I'm applying for Columbia's CS PhD program and there was a transcript section that said to mail our official transcripts as well as scan and electronic copy. However, I'm an international student - my transcripts are in English, but they aren't using the US 4.0 scale. The instructions for that section wasn't very clear as they said to mail "official" transcripts which I'm assuming are sealed with your university stamp/sticker on the envelope. However, they also said in their FAQs that we have to get our transcripts converted to the 4.0 scale. Anyone applied before and knows what they want? If they require the conversion, then I have a very tight schedule to get the conversion done in time for Dec 15.

Another question I have is, can I apply for a Masters and PhD at the same time through MICE? I know for the PhD applications they ask if we would like to be considered for the MS program if we didn't get in but I recall the MS applications are considered on a rolling basis. Hence, I would like to apply for the two separately and wouldn't mind paying that extra application fees.

If any international students have applied to Columbia before, please help me! I have emailed a bunch of times over the past month or so and did not get a single response.

I don't have any experience with Columbia University specifically but perhaps I could provide some insight based on what I have seen with other universities.