Really need advice - resigning from professional job

lemma

I recently found out I was accepted into my top program with a much more generous scholarship package than I had imagined. I will absolutely be attending. However, I am currently working full time in a professional job that I was expected to be in for at least another four years. I've been here less than a year. I really need some help on how to resign. I've been having bad insomnia and anxiety attacks because it's been stressing me out so much. 

Though I sat the GRE almost four years ago, spoke to professors about this PhD six years ago, and worked in my new department a few years ago, I did not expect to be going to grad school when I accepted the job. I am happy at work, and I am doing my job well, but I am a researcher and my job has repeated exposure to academic and commercial research. This has made me realise that academia is where I want to be, which is what I also thought for most of my studies. It's a long story but I kind of fell into industry when I graduated a few years ago. 

People have been kind to me and have invested in me, which was the opposite as at my last job where I was bullied. This piece is making the whole thing so hard. 

Edited by lemma

I think the top priority in your resignation process is to minimize the cost incurred on the company. If the decision has been made to leave the job for the program (congrats btw), the only thing left to think about is how to deliver this message to your managers and facilitate the transition as smoothly as possible - for example, letting them know about your plan and time frame now - instead of during summer 2018 - and showing willingness to arrange the rest of your work time according to their need, could both demonstrate your respect of their investment and avoid disruption such as having to quit during the middle of a project.