Chances for an Outsider

JDD

Hey there - I recently came across this forum in my research for which MDiv program would be best for me. After reading tons of threads about how differing backgrounds stack up in admissions and financial aid, I began to question where my educational background put me in terms of rank.

To provide some context, I graduated from a large state school with an average reputation. I earned a Bachelor of Science in Public Relations and Mass communication (Political Science Minor) with a 4.0 GPA. I also was able to graduate top of my class in 3 years instead of 4 - again, not sure if that helps at all. I was in leadership positions in multiple clubs, held various positions in school organizations, and even did some writing tutoring for the lab on campus. However, none of my experience or past credentials relate directly to the humanities and, more specifically, religious/theological studies.I have LoRs from two pastors and two professors - both of which are directors of their department. 

My current list of schools includes: Yale, Princeton, Duke, and Fuller. 

So how do I stack up? Anything I can do between now and the app deadline to better my chances of acceptance and (more importantly) financial aid?

I wouldn't worry. M.Div programs are meant to include people from diverse backgrounds, not just religion or theology majors, since its a professional degree. II'd highlight your leadership experience and be clear about yoursense of vocation (in other words, why do you want to pursue this degree?) in your documents. 

Yea, you're going to be fine!

I had classmates from departments like music, public communications, exercise science, etc. Many of them had never even taken an undergraduate Religious Studies course and were phenomenal M.Div students.

Play up your leadership experience, that'll be a big boost.