Waitlisted, no interview

menalta17

Hey guys, this is my first time on this forum so...be nice to me, please lol Two hours ago I received an email from one of the programs I applied to and it said I was waitlisted and they would follow up if a first round selected interviewee rejected their invite. I'm not too keen to the program as I am to the others I applied to but bc I'm assuming my options may be low in February I kind of want to get at least one interview.  How often do waitlistees gets invited to interview? I would think most people would accept the offer, especially this early on. Also, does being waitlisted like this only count for interviews or will it still be possible to get an interview months later? Thank you ahead of time if anyone knows the answer!

It's entirely impossible to answer your question. It depends on so many unknowns. You can try and search the Results portion of the board for acceptances and interview invites to this program to see if/how many late invitations went out. Beyond that, it's possible that they'll hang onto their waitlisted pool for quite long, until they have a finalized list of admitted students, or not. It's possible that everyone will accept their invitation, or not. Not having a crystal ball, none of us can predict the future. My best advice is to write back, thank the school for the good news, and ask for some additional information: say you know they can't make any promises, but could they tell you, on average, how many students get admitted off the waitlist in the past several years, and when you could expect to get an update. 

20 minutes ago, fuzzylogician said: