Backup Plan: UGA Post-Bacc in Classical Languages?

ClassicsCandidate

Hello all,

Since I'm a pretty logical and practical person, I've been trying to come up with backup plans in case I don't get into a program due to my less-than-stellar undergraduate record. In the event that I do not get accepted, I have been knocking around the idea of applying to University of Georgia's Post-Bacc program and wanted to know if anyone has had experience in this program? Not just the application process, but how the program is set up, the difficulty level of the classes, etc. Thanks in advance! 

I earned my MA in Classical Philology from UGA in 2016, so I have very recent experiences there. I cannot recommend the faculty more highly -- extremely supportive, both personally and professionally. That being said, I admit I don't know too much about the post-bacc program, as it was in its nascent stages when I was a student. I can say with confidence that the courses I took were challenging but doable; the profs have high expectations for student achievement, but do the work and you'll be fine. I'm not sure how this will differ for online courses, though, since all of my classes were very focused on discussions. The profs assume that you will do the translations for homework, so class time is spent mostly addressing any grammatical issues anybody had as well as discussing the content (rather than simply going over the translations verbatim). Of course, a huge part of every class was scholarship -- on average, I expected to read 2-3 articles per period for each class that met 2/3x per week (more if a seminar course that met only once a week; for these, usually a few book chapters or 5-6 articles). A fairly large component of each class beyond discussing the primary source material was addressing the arguments of the articles we read: how they used the ancient material, their intertext with other modern writing, the perspective of the author, that sort of thing. Your own writing, too,