Recommendations for women's shoes for interviews

not_really_cool

I have an admissions interview weekend (possibly more) coming up in February. I'm planning on wearing slacks with button-down shirts and sweaters, but I still need to get a pair of comfortable, professional shoes to wear. I'm at a total loss when it comes to fashion: I'm an undergrad whose daily attire consists of jeans, t-shirts, and men's vans. I realize heels are a bad idea (I hate them anyway!) especially with snow being nearly guaranteed at this particular school. Does anyone have any recommendations of specific brands / styles / models of shoes? I'm willing to spend ~$100 since I could potentially wear them to conferences and the like.

P.S. This is my first post here. Is this the right place for this topic? Thanks!

It depends on where you are going to interview. Upper-Midwest (Illinois, Wisconsin, Minnesota, and the like)? Knee-high boots with a chunky heel.  Your legs will be less cold, your calves supported and the chunky heel actually helps with the ice and snow- keeps you out of the snow and you can use the heel part to dig into the ice if need be. I also wear cute, fur-lined boots and moccasins and Minnetonkas are cute, comfortable, and may even score you points in Minnesota because Minnetonka is headquartered in Minnetonka, MN.

Another hint, wear fleece-lined leggings under your dress pants and a tight cami under your shirt.  That extra (tight) layer will help a lot.