Level of difficulty in MSW programs compared to undergrad programs

bounce

This might be a stupid question to ask but I do not know anyone going for their Master's in Social Work. (I know several in psych programs)

How hard is grad school compared to undergrad? Should I expect to spend significantly more time on classes compared to undergrad? Is the stress level much greater?

My general question is: What is it like?

School has always come easy to me, and I am an A student, but I am concerned that grad school will put me in way over my head. I can't be the only one who feels like this, right?

Hey,

You are not alone. I feel the same way. But after earning my BSW and getting a lot of awesome exp in the mental health field, plus my volunteer work, I feel more than ready for this challenge.

I have several friends in MSW programs and they all say it’s a very intense program. They go to USC. My friends are doing really well because they are organized and balance their responsibilities. If you are this type of person, I am sure you will do well. I know several people who have said that the most challenging aspect of the program is their internship. Its emotionally and mentally draining. I did and internship working with foster youth during my last year at undergrad. While my internship was emotionally draining, I felt that I had truly made a difference in the lives of some of the youth that I worked with. That feeling will never leave me. But my professors and supervisors taught me the importance of self care, and believe me, I took time for myself, even if it was for just 15 minutes. I also vented to my supervisors. My friends have noticed that the people who struggle more in internship are the ones that lack an open mind. In an MSW program it is very important to keep and open mind and not only listen to your client but be able to see their point of view.