Converting UK Grade to US GPA?

Bombaygunner

I did my undergrad in the UK. I was wondering if there's a standard grade converter to get my US GPA equivalent? 

Going by various sources from a web search, I estimate my score of 66% (considered a 'high' 2:1, because those who got 68% and above were given 1st class) comes to roughly 3.6 in the US GPA system. Does this sound about right?

Do American universities also average out your scores for specific subject areas? For instance, I studied Business and International Relations. Would a prospective Economics Program admissions team take my Econ course scores and change them to a GPA? 

Thoughts appreciated!

I don't know about a standard grad converter, but I can tell you that American universities frequently ask for your "major GPA," that is, the grade point average of all of the courses that you took only in your major. Generally your major GPA will be higher than your overall GPA, since it's the average of courses that you are ostensibly most interested in/best at.

I did my undergrad in the UK. I was wondering if there's a standard grade converter to get my US GPA equivalent? 

Going by various sources from a web search, I estimate my score of 66% (considered a 'high' 2:1, because those who got 68% and above were given 1st class) comes to roughly 3.6 in the US GPA system. Does this sound about right?

Do American universities also average out your scores for specific subject areas? For instance, I studied Business and International Relations. Would a prospective Economics Program admissions team take my Econ course scores and change them to a GPA? 

Thoughts appreciated!

I had to send my grades to a professional "grade translator" (i.e. money mill) called World Education Services or WES when I applied to master's in the US. The way it worked that anything between a 65 and 69 was given an A-, 70 or above an A. 59 to 64 B+ and so on. You can then translate the letter grades into GPA.