NSF GRFP 2016

sierra918

FYI-The 2016 solicitations are up! They've moved the due dates up a bit, also. All applications are due in October this year. I've been working on my proposal all summer, so I'm going to make sure it still fits the requirements and get it submitted asap.

Yay I'm so excited!! Earlier today I did all the boring stuff -- filling out the easy bits of the application, uploading transcripts, etc. Now time to attempt to remain calm and craft the most kickass statements possible!

Are we tied to the topic we propose in an NSF grant if we get the award? I'm a first-year student still doing rotations so I'm not sure what kind of lab I'll end up in, and I'm trying several different topics.

Are we tied to the topic we propose in an NSF grant if we get the award? I'm a first-year student still doing rotations so I'm not sure what kind of lab I'll end up in, and I'm trying several different topics.

Nope, not tied up at all! As far as I'm aware, the only time you have to notify a change of research plans is if your primary field completely changes, which is unlikely. Actual fellows should respond though :)

There's actually a part about this in the instructions.  This is what the NSF GRFP application says, it only says it once you start the application and get to the part where you choose your topic:

Changing fields of study as Graduate Research Fellows: If awarded a fellowship, Fellows are allowed some leeway in changing their graduate study and proposed institution. It is acceptable for Fellows to shift the focus of their research while remaining in the same field. However, Fellows are expected to pursue graduate study in the general field designated on their application. Changing fields of study during the first year of the fellowship is generally not permitted. All changes of field must comply with the eligibility requirements in the Program Solicitation.