How do I find a program?

EvelynD

Hey guys!

I’m here with another question, this time about the process of finding/locating schools and programs! For context; I have a research master degree in archaeology and anthropology of Native American cultures (specifically Mexico) and I am looking for a PhD program in the United States (or Canada / Australia).  I came across human-animal relation studies (HAS) on this forum, and I am about 95% sure I want to obtain a PhD in this. however, there are two 'problems' I have trouble figuring out;

Although I have several research interest I don’t know what I want to do exáctly. I don’t have a clear cut research idea, methodology , theoretical  preference or let alone a fully developed proposal, and I have a hard time figuring out how defined your idea’s must be before contacting POI’s. I just know I want to focus on HAS, with a specialization in horses, most probably from an anthropology/sociologic perspective (hence this subforum). Do I keep reading until I could write an actual proposal, or it is enough to stay in broader terms like ‘human-horse dynamics, social relations, welfare issues’ etc. I hear so many people talking about ‘their project’, and I don’t have that of course.

Question two would be what the ‘strategy’ is for finding schools and programs that you would have a good fit with. HAS + anthropology / sociology + equines is a bit of a challenge, because there is only one school that offers HAS as a grad program: MSU.  I am really enthusiastic about this school, but I want to broaden my search. I don’t think other graduate programs in HAS exist, so...

Do I google for lists of anthropology programs and do I check out every single researcher to see if they focus on animals/ horses? Or do I look through e-journals and look for individual researchers focusing on this subject, and see where they work? Or is this way to specific and should I focus on broader topics and let go of the horses during the search?