Teaching Autistic students

MemphisMeli

Has anyone had an autistic student in their classes? Do you have any suggestions for how I might better teach a student with Autism? They have an assistant with them, so I imagine they will be able to assist me as well. I was only able to meet her in passing as I had to leave for another class.

BTW, I am an undergrad doing the job of a TA teaching breakout sessions for a General Psychology class. This is my second semester teaching these sessions but the first time I've had a student with Autism. Any suggestions would be GREATLY appreciated.

Have you spoken with the professor for the course about this student? They may have already been contacted by your university's disability service office (or equivalent office) about the student's aid and accommodations that may need to be made. I would then speak with the student and the assistant directly to discuss if there is any support they might need. As a TA, this information should be shared with you. I would suggest contacting your university's disability service as well with any advice they may have for your teaching with this student.

Best of luck!

Unless it's been discussed with accessibility services or the aid/student has talked with you, treat the student as you would any other student. If accommodations are requested by any of the above or the professor for the course, be flexible as needed.

On 2017-01-25 at 2:55 PM, heyDW said:

Unless it's been discussed with accessibility services or the aid/student has talked with you, treat the student as you would any other student. If accommodations are requested by any of the above or the professor for the course, be flexible as needed.