Masters or Year Break in Psychology Advice Needed

bonjourkrystal

Question

I recently applied to doctoral programs within clinical psychology, but it looks like I am probably not going to get accepted. I was wondering if I should take a year break (volunteer at a research lab, improve my GRE score, and work at community mental health/something psych related) or should I go straight to masters? Also if I choose to take a year break what is some advice that could be given because I'm kind of worried about my job prospects.  I have a 3.95 gpa, I'm president of my psychology club, my gre scores are verbal:155, quant: 151, writing:5. I currently work in a lab and I am working on my honors thesis, but these are somewhat unrelated to future research topics that I would like to delve into during graduate school. I need opinions on what I can do next!! Also if I do choose to volunteer at a research lab how do I get in contact with a professor (specifically one out of state since I am more than willing to move)? 

6 answers to this question

If you can get into a funded masters program, do it. Otherwise, it's not worth the money. I don't know what your area of interest is, but a lot of fields have listservs where professors post RA or lab manager jobs that are intended for post-bacc people headed for grad school. You can also check HERCjobs (higher ed recruitment consortium) or Indeed. I've also cold emailed people I was interested in working with--just say something to the effect of I'm really interested in your work, I want to get more experience before grad school, do you have any paid or volunteer positions available. Most people were very kind and understanding. 

As the previous poster stated, I wouldn't go into a masters without funding.