To Those Who Didn't Get In: A Different Perspective

thebends1996

One thing that never seems to be mentioned in this forum is what to do after complete rejection. These boards can make even the smartest person feel inadequate, with all of the acceptances to elite institutions left and right. A student who is bright may find that all of their immediate plans are ruined. I’m here to try and offer a bit of encouragement and advice to those people.

I started as a student at a relatively small liberal arts college. I became enchanted with the idea of going to a PhD program and pursuing a career in academia. Like all of you, I was an accomplished student. I presented at conferences, had a high GPA with decent test scores, and had great letters of recommendation (from faculty that aren’t universally known, but still great letters). I sent in my applications with grand hopes that were soon dashed away: not one single acceptance from a full-fledged PhD program. I was basically left with no plans.

The stage after rejection is by far the most difficult. I really had no idea what to do. I ended up having to keep my remedial college job at a local car repair shop until the next round of applications were due. I decided this time that I needed to get a masters degree of some sort to make myself more appealing down the line. To my original chagrin, my advisor told me to pursue a more practical degree and enroll in theoretical courses while attending. This would give me a bit of a safety net, just in case things didn’t work out on the PhD front.