Do I lack the policy background for an MPP to make sense?

Agriff

I've been reading that the way an MPP makes sense financially and/or career-wise is in circumstances where grads are able to use it as leverage to the work experience they already had.

My situation is a bit different. I have a BA in Psychology, taught English in Korea for a year after college, and have spent the last 3 and a half years in social work jobs- mostly doing case management. I've been a mental health case manager and am currently working as a medical case manager at a community center for people living with HIV/AIDS. I have been in this field because I've been building experience with the eventual goal of becoming a licensed social worker and a therapist.

But after seeing the state of social services and "working in the trenches" so to speak, I've realized that I'm not so sure I want to be working on the individual level. Instead of helping people process trauma I want to be able to work on a macro level to influence the systems that cause trauma. Policy issues like access to mental health services, healthcare, affordable housing, etc. That's where my passion is pushing me. I would love to work for my state's DHS, or Dept of Health, or on a national level at HUD or HRSA.