Is my GRA funding for MSc of ECE in UBC below average ??

CAguy

Hi all, I'm an international student and I've been offered a GRA Funding of 18k CAD/year from my potential MSc supervisor in UBC (from which I'll pay around 5K CAD/year for tuition and leaving 13K CAD/year for living expenses). Is it below average compared to GRA fundings in the ECE department in UBC ? Is it enough for my living expenses in Vancouver ?

Thanks

You can look at the UBC ECE department funding page for a description of how students are funded: https://www.ece.ubc.ca/current-graduate-students/grad-society

For your case, your GRA funding offer seems below average compared to other types of funding (i.e. more prestigious fellowships and scholarships). But it seems like GRAs are paid directly by advisors through their grants so there are no reported averages and it can vary. Based on typical funding, I would say that 18k for a research assistantship sounds about right. But the total stipend is quite low, I don't think $13k/year is enough to live on in Vancouver. Usually UBC students (and most STEM students in Canada) are supported by both TA and RA work, not just one. Typically, I'd expect the before-tuition stipend to be around $22k-$24k, i.e. leaving $17k to $19k for living expenses.

5 hours ago, Oawad said:

@TakeruK I will ask my potential supervisor for a TAship. This should give me around $5K/year. Thanks for your advice.