emma432

Hello,

Initially planning to apply to Canadian programs only (I am an anthropology student) I decided to take the GRE and change most of my applications to US programs after learning that funding and quotas for international students were limited there.

I have been accepted to the PhD program at UBC with 4 year funding at CAD18,200 and informed that there would also be  possible TA'ship positions later at CAD 12,000. It would be great to study in Canada, as while I know that PhD programs (perhaps just for the social sciences) are more 'valid' when from the US, my homecountry is a mess right now, and my spouse (who is an architect) and toddler will be accompanying me and Canada does give the chance of PR'ship after 3 years which we might consider as well as work permits on arrival etc. etc.

I'm wondering if I'm not mistaken in thinking that a monthly CAD1500 is a bit too low for a student to manage in Vancouver, even if I were to go alone? (We will have a little extra funding set aside but it will be spent on childcare) The rents for one thing are so high!  

I'm still waiting for the results from Queens (Cultural studies) and York and a few other US universities (I have received one acceptance) but am wondering if anyone could advice me before I decline.. I know there are gov grants that can be applied to but most seem to be for Canadian citizens and also I'm not sure if I should count on those.

Hello!

You should ask your program how likely you are able to get a TAship. If there is a high chance of TAship, then 30,000 CAD of funding is 2500/month, which is more reasonable to live on. It will be a little tight to support 3 people on that income in Vancouver, but it's not impossible. However, unlike the USA, most Canadian programs pay students the full amount and then we still have to pay tuition from the stipend. So, check if a tuition award is included, otherwise, find out how much tuition you will have to pay.