Getting involved: extracurricular activities & leadership positions

cheesecafe

I am a first grad student and wondering how, if at all, other students manage "extracurricular activities and leadership positions" (I can't think of a better descriptor, but I'm referring to things like getting involved in graduate student union or similar activities that are beyond a service to your program/profession)? I am someone who is several years out of undergrad now and a common thread through my undergraduate years was being involved student government groups; in my years post-grad this has taken the form of community boards. I am struggling because I want to get involved in something that is larger than my program yet I am already finding that I have limited time. For those of you who have been in similar positions, how did you decide to get involved? Do you have any tips for managing these extracurriculars with the other demands of grad school? Besides the personal fulfillment, have you found external motivations for being involved?

Delegate, and know when to let go.

In my MA program, I tried to found a graduate student alliance.  Or, more accurately, I did found it, but I didn't find that anyone really wanted it and was willing and interested in meeting regularly.  So I did my best to delegate things to other people, follow up with them, etc.  But ultimately I realized that I was going to be graduating, and there wasn't anyone to take it over.  Thus, I just sent an email, let people know, and shut it down.

So, find people to whom you can delegate things, and - if nobody is interested - know when to let go.  At least in my case, it made more sense to let it go than to keep trying to force it.

This is from personal experience, so take it with a grain of salt as what works for me might not work for you.