Just want to pick the brains of people that chose a Research doctoral program in Psychology, and those that chose a Clinical/Counseling program.

I find myself much more interested in research than therapy in my Clinical Psychology Master's program. If I did a Clinical PhD I would want to get involved in research afterwards. I am very interested in research and testing, and doing some therapy but not really making that my focus. I would prefer to be licensed in Psychology just so I have the flexibility in career options.

Thoughts? Rationale for clinical vs. research focus?

Clinical psych PhD (especially clinical science) sound like what you want. The primary focus of these programs is training scientists with clinical skills who we be the leaders in the research that leads to dissemination and implementation of the most cutting edge advancements in psychotherapy and assessment (as we as epidemiology and many other health fields). Just because it’s a “clinical psych PhD” program doesn’t mean you just are going to be a clinician. In fact, top programs (think UCLA, temple, BU, etc.) pride themselves on producing top notch scientists. 

PsyD and masters degrees don’t generally require or offer the research training and support it sounds like you want. 

I agree with the previous poster! A clinical psych PhD sounds perfect for you. They are generally heavily research-focused, and many people with clinical psychology PhDs are primarily researchers. 

The flexibility part is big too- I love research, but chose a clinical PhD because having a research career is so uncertain and I wanted to have options.