NYU vs. Undergrad Alma Mater?

jaaaayciee

I got into the History MA program for UNLV -- the school I recently got my undergrad degree, located in the city that I have been born and raised in. Even though I was bummed that I got rejected from all my other schools, I still was very happy and started planning on going to UNLV. However, I recently got the notice from NYU that I got in. So now I have a big decision -- I know that NYU is an amazing school, but it is very expensive, and I would have to deal with relocating and trying to deal with living in NYC. Both schools accepted me, and both schools did not offer me funding.

I am a licensed secondary teacher for Nevada, and NYU has a problem where teachers with full-time teaching positions will get tuition cut in half. That brings NYU from $40k a year to about $20k a year, which is a big difference. At UNLV I would be paying about $8k a semester.

What are your guys' thoughts?

Relocating and living in NYC - don't worry about that. Lots of people do it, and you can too if you want to. They're not decisions to be undertaken lightly of course - but they are completely doable things and you can succeed and thrive at them.

The question is whether NYU is as good a fit for you as UNLV and whether it's affordable. The full-time teaching program sounds like it brings NYU to be pretty close in price to UNLV (assuming $16K a year at UNLV, since it's $8K a semester). But that also assumes that you can get a full-time teaching position in New York in enough time to qualify for the tuition cut. Do you think this is possible? What does the teaching market look like in your field in New York? The cost of living in New York is also way higher than Las Vegas, and it's not uncommon for teachers (especially teachers who are also students) to have roommates, sharing an apartment with 1-2 other people. Think about whether you would have to borrow money to supplement your income in NYC.