How can I do better next time?

PsychedelicBreakfast

Question

I'm an international student waiting to hear from McGill, Ottawa, Queens and Waterloo. I have applied for a researched based masters program in Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) with a specialization in Computer Vision. My application was done somewhat in a rush (under 8 weeks). I also didn't realize that contacting professors is necessary to get into a research based program so I'm somewhat skeptical I will get in.

My profile is:

GPA: 82% (First Class) from a UK university. Every university seems to make their own equivalency but my guess is it ranges from 3.7 to 4.0.

Research Experience: I do not have any formal research experience unless we count my project in my Bachelors. I do, however, have extensive work experience (6 years) in the specialization I am seeking (Computer Vision) which I elaborate on in my SOP. It is extremely difficult for me to gain research experience before the next cycle due to 1) my job 2) next to no opportunities in the country I live in.

Letters or Recommendation: Very strong (I think). However, the culture of writing letters in the UK is very different compared to what is expected in North America. The letters are brief and mention my ability to take on a graduate degree and that I was a good student. One letter is from my advisor for first 2 years of my degree and another is from the head of department. 3rd letter is from my employer.

No GRE.

SOP: Strong, elaborates on my work in the past 6 years.

Question: how can I make my profile stronger for the next cycle?

Edited by PsychedelicBreakfast

3 answers to this question