Taking Classes Pass/Fail

Hi everyone,

I'm a college student who wants to go to grad school for polisci (or something polisci related) right after college. I'm taking intro to statistics next semester, a class that's seen as one of the toughest weeders at my university. I was wondering, do you guys think graduate admissions committee's will care if I take this class pass/fail? I've already taken Econ 101 and a quantitative research methods class in the political science department and gotten an A in both of those.

Take the course for normal credit. 

I definitely don't intend to sound mean, but if you are struggling with an undergraduate intro to statistics course, you have almost no shot at getting into (or succeeding in) a mainstream political science department. Many political science Ph.D. programs require somewhere between 3-5 methods courses for anyone who isn't a political theorist/philosopher. 

I can't speak for graduate adcoms, but I don't really know why you would consider taking such a course pass/fail. If you're just going to have a P grade on your transcript for intro to statistics, all you are telling an adcom is that you could achieve a minimum of a C in a basic statistics course. That (at best) tells the adcom nothing useful, and (at worst) makes them question why you wouldn't just take the course for credit. 

I took all the methods courses that my psci department offered, and wanted to do more. I took statistics and probability courses in the mathematics department, credit/no credit. Having done well in my methods courses, I didn't think it would matter one way or another to adcomm. I'm happy I did so. I learned a ton and it didn't seem to hurt me a bit.

I see. I have another question: At my university, they offer two different intro classes, a standard one and an easier one for people that aren't as good at math. Will admission officers know which stats course is the "regular" one? My university is a fairly big, well known university.