How did you choose your writing sample?

TsarandProphet

Dear friends,

I am curious about your choice of a writing sample. What were your criteria? How did you fit it to the varying page length requirements? What was it about?

I am going to send a writing sample written in an MA seminar (while I am currently an undergraduate student) that uses foreign-language primary and secondary sources and I think it is well written, but the topic is not particularly exciting and it is about my minor field within history (Balkans) and not major (Transnational East European History).

In my correspondence with POIs, one professor suggested that I choose my writing sample "carefully", and the criteria they gave is that the writing sample should show both one's "existing knowledge of the field" and one's ability to "carry out original, creative analysis". :) 

In an interview with another POI, I was informed that my writing is "expressive" (I feel very much flattered), so I guess this is also a good thing. 

Hope it helps~

While I was applying I automatically assumed I would use my capstone paper, if only because it was/is the cumulative of my undergraduate work and a piece of original research; and I did use it in the end.

The schools I applied to (for Master's) encouraged a sample that dealt with your proposed area of study, so my capstone was also convenient in that respect because it dealt with my area of interest. If I wrote it on a different area I'm not sure what I would have done, because I also have another (older) paper that dealt with my topic but that wasn't as expansive. I did have to cut it down for one application as it was over the maximum word count, so there was a small struggle in trying to decide where to cut it off. I managed in the end however, and added a small explanation that stated what the rest of the paper explored.