Regrets and "if only's"

pinkypink

Hey everyone,

I'm a recent graduate (I graduated a week ago) and while it has been exciting starting a new chapter of my life, it has also been extremely nerve-wracking for me with all the uncertainty when it comes to getting into graduate school. 

With that being said, it hit me that with a 2.8 GPA, grad school feels a little out of reach as most programs I've researched won't even accept an application without a 3.0 GPA. 

My biggest struggle has been dwelling on my undergrad years and how school wasn't as big as a priority to me as it should've been. I keep beating myself up because I know my potential as a student (I'm totally capable of getting a high GPA) but focused most of my energy on fun or letting negative events in my life prevent me from focusing on my studies. 

Moving forward, I'm doing my best to be proactive and strengthen my applications to the best of my abilities but mentally, I've been hung up on all the things I could've done with my time during my undergrad years, and also been hung up on thinking how if I did things differently, even slightly, to obtain a 3.0, I could have a chance at many of my dream schools. 

I'm posting this because I'm wondering if anyone has felt this way as a fresh college graduate and what they did to focus on moving forward with their education rather than wondering 'what if' and beating yourself up with regret. I am motivated to do better now, but part of me is still stuck on feeling dumb for not trying harder and ending up in a position where many schools are out of reach, and to know if feeling anxious like this is normal as a new graduate. Thanks guys. :)

Edited by pinkypink

Feeling anxious is definitely a (new?) normal after your undergraduate.