Does a JD give you more flexibility than an MA/MPP/MPA?

Hi!  I've been a longtime lurker on this forum, and I'm hoping to do my grad school applications in September/October.  I'm about to take the GRE for the second time this August (first time scores: Q: 150, V:165, AW: 5.5).  The first time I took the GRE, I went in with very little studying, which is very clear based on my quant score.  I'm also a Peace Corps volunteer in Mongolia, and I have other work experience abroad and some nonprofit work experience.

I was planning on applying to HKS, SAIS, Fletcher, WWS, GW, Georgetown, and Korbel (I graduated from DU in 2015 with majors in IR and Journalism).  I really want to work in the IR field, especially international development, but I'm also pretty flexible about what this career trajectory could look like.  Basically, I was pretty set on this path until I read something that made me stop and think.

Someone mentioned that in the IR field, people with JDs tend to be paid more.  For me, it's not so much about the pay as it is about the flexibility to find work.  Would a JD give more flexibility in terms of finding a job or give me more opportunities to advance?  What's your experience with people that have JDs vs MAs/MPPs/MPAs?  Any insight would be appreciated!

I have worked at 4 different development organizations (private foundation, development contractor, consultancy firm, non-profit) and I have never met a single JD. I have met many, many MPPs, MPAs, and MBAs. 

Don't go to law school because you want to do international development. Go to law school because you want to be a lawyer. If anything, you'll be coming out of your JD with 3 years of debt instead of 2 years, and you'll still be applying for similar roles as if you had gotten an MPP/MPA/MBA.