Are my activities during a 3-year gap decent?

talani_ai

Hello,

I'm an international future sociology applicant in my mid-twenties. It's been a year since I graduated in my country with an MA (Jul 2017) in English studies. I have financial problems and found myself forced to take another gap year or two. I've decided to apply next year's fall. The gap will be around 3 years.

During the years between my MA graduation and PhD applications, I was and will be working as an online freelance translator and author (Upwork platform) and part-time English language teacher in a private school. I'm also reading widely in my field and fine-tuning my PhD project and future research, generally related to my region.

I plan to list the first two activities under the 'work experience' CV segment (I'll also include the Upwork profile link to show work history and client feedback).

Assuming other elements of the application are fine, are my activities during these years decent?

Please help me. No one in my environment is going through the same experience; this forum is my only resort.

Thank you.

Quick thoughts:

• Are you applying to the US? If so, you're not expected to come with a fully fleshed out research project to begin with. You're obviously expected to have some ideas or interests, but people are generally expected to revise their plans or develop new ones as they learn about theory and research the first couple of years. From what I've heard, AdComms can even see it as a negative if you come with a very detailed proposal as they fear that there might only be very few potential advisors for such specific project ideas. Don't box yourself in too much by spending half a year refining your project.