Should I take a gap year, or apply right away (PhD programs)?

tanoushie

Question

Hi guys! Long story short I am looking to eventually pursue a PhD in HCI (human computer interaction). Unfortunately, I have a terrible undergraduate GPA...My undergraduate GPA is a 3.04 from UIUC in Economics, which I majored in out of confusion and is truly irrelevant to HCI. While in undergrad, I managed to discover the field of HCI and got involved in research, and also had a local UX research internship. My independent research project was accepted as an extended abstract in CHI (a great HCI journal), and I am now pursuing my master's in Human Computer Interaction at IUPUI (Indiana-Purdue). I am heavily involved in research there, and am currently in the middle of a summer user experience research internship at a pretty established tech company. My GPA from master's after my first year is a solid 3.89, and I have retaken the GRE with a score of 163 V 164 Q and 4.5 AWA. I was wondering if it would be a good idea for my to apply in this upcoming fall, or allow myself a gap year so that I have another full year of master's grades and my grad thesis/other potential publications to come into review for the admissions purposes. I think the extra year would really mitigate my terrible undergrad performance, but I also don't know if I should just go ahead and apply.

Bonus question: If I were to wait another year and maintained my ~3.9 GPA would I be competitive for a PhD in Information Science/HCI at the following institutions

University of Michigan, Northwestern (MTS PhD), UIUC, UMaryland, UC Irvine, UT Austin, IUPUI, IUB, and UW? What other schools should I add to my list? Thanks!

4 answers to this question

13 hours ago, tanoushie said:

Economics