Addressing my irrelevant undergraduate background in SoP?

Hey all -- I hope those of you getting in gear for new programs or returning to programs this month are finding that transition smooth and exciting!

I have a couple of very particular questions that I'm wondering if anyone would like to share thoughts on. Generally, I'm wondering whether it's a good idea to give an account in an SoP of how I came to my current interests and what my personal-intellectual background has been like, or whether I should just explain what I'm interested in (without the why) and why the program is a good fit for that.

The particular bit:

As an undergrad, I had no idea I'd be interested in grad school and really wasted my own time. I did well grade-wise and made a couple of faculty acquaintances, but I took a lot of film classes and medieval literature classes because that's what worked with my schedule at the time. I'm 100% uninterested in both (though in a highly abstract way, my affinity for the medieval period did lead me to my current interests -- but this is loose and largely irrelevant). I will be applying for PhDs with an MA, so I'm not sure I even need to discuss undergrad at all in an SoP. Do I need to justify somewhere in my statement why I took these classes or how they can be narrativized into my current interests? They really can't be; I found my interests after I finished undergrad. Which brings me to: