Job Opportunities with a MA in Sociology

speechfan222

Hi everyone, 

I am a current graduate student in a Masters program in Sociology and will graduate this December. I am looking into employment opportunities for those with a masters degree in Sociology. I am most interested in research, data collection/analysis, and statistics. I have a few questions regarding employment and am hoping a few of you could help me. I have already contacted my program advisor and a few faculty within my department. 

I understand most universities, anywhere, require PhD's for research positions. Does this mean I would be able to conduct research within a large research company or with a private company? 

Do you know if companies require a PhD as universities do, or is it a preference of each company? I have already contacted a few research companies locally and was not provided with detailed information as they are not hiring and do not have any available positions.

I am also interested in medicine and the medical field. Would I be able to conduct or assist with research within a hospital, or would a MD/PhD degree be required? 

Finally, I am aware of companies whose primary focus is not research but have a research department. Is this an opportunity available to those with a masters degree in Sociology?

I have already tried to research my questions, but I am having a hard time finding information. I am new to this field and really enjoy research and statistics, so I am looking for more information that will allow me to gain research employment after graduation. 

Please, please, please direct me to other helpful information that can assist me with my questions. I appreciate it. Thank you. 

I have a research-focused MS in psychology so we may be in a similar boat in terms of our employment prospects.