How much free time would I have to work if I self-fund my PHD studies?

B1369

Question

Hi everyone,

I have the option to self-fund my Ph.D. studies. My question is if I don't request funding, will I have enough time to work during the course of my Ph.D.? I would rather work on my own than being an RA or a TA and I think it would be more beneficial to me overally. I am applying for Ph.D. programs in social psychology. If the answer to the aforementioned question is yes, should I mention that in my application or when contacting potential advisors? Will it have a positive or negative effect on my chances of being enrolled in the program?

4 answers to this question

I got my PhD in a joint program in social psychology and public health. Not only will you not have time to work full-time during your doctoral program (at least the first 2-3 years), some programs also forbid or heavily discourage you from doing so.

It's not just classes, although that is a major factor. At most social psychology PhD programs, you will be taking 2-3 classes a semester, and those classes are typically scheduled during normal business hours (between 8 am and 5 pm Monday through Friday), making it very difficult to work any full-time job with normal daytime hours. You will also likely be required to work as a teaching assistant even if you don't want to, and those classes are also M-F 8-5. (If you don't have funding from the department, you may not be required to TA, but some programs are considering this part of the education and not just a job for funding.)