Which GRE grade shall I report?

usmeme

Hey, all. I am an international student. It's good to find here.

The thing is that I took GRE twice, and the distributions of my GRE grades are, 161(V)/170(Q)/4.0, 159(V)/170(Q)/4.5

I am wondering which grade I shall report to the targeted school. On the one hand, the first total score exceeds 330 but the analytical writing part is only 4.0. On the other hand, the analytical part in the second is higher but the total score is only 329.

My targeted schools are most from first tier. I wonder if they pay much attention to the writing part for international students or they care more about your total score.

Really appreciate your help. Thanks!

Many (maybe most?) programs look at your highest score for each section of the GRE regardless of the distribution of these scores across attempts. In other words, you should be able to submit the scores from both tests, and the program would consider your overall scores to be 161(V), 170(Q), and 4.5(W). 

• 3 weeks later...

I have a similar question about GRE. I scored 163(V)/165(Q)/4.0 and am shooting to top tier schools. Particularly worried if top-10 schools would pass on my file based on the low writing score. 

Should I retake it?

Edited by misaki_rabbit

On 10/22/2018 at 10:24 AM, misaki_rabbit said:

I have a similar question about GRE. I scored 163(V)/165(Q)/4.0 and am shooting to top tier schools. Particularly worried if top-10 schools would pass on my file based on the low writing score. 

Should I retake it?

From what I know, the AWA score really isn't that important. Given your verbal score, I think you should be fine especially if your SOP and writing sample are in good shape. Btw, your question is answered in the stickied "Faculty perspectives" thread:

• 2 weeks later...
On 10/24/2018 at 11:30 AM, Imperator_Taco said: