I figured that there's no thread for the East Asian Languages and Cultures 2019-2020 cycle. I hope everyone's doing well, and feel free to post anything related to the EALC application cycle under this thread!

• 3 weeks later...

Well, I'm still confusing about locating myself. I have a GPA score which seems to be ridiculous (4 in the first year, 3 overall average), but that's because I have set up an EdTech startup in China since my sophomore year. My major is Chinese from Beijing Normal University (#2 in Chinese in China), and I can get some recommendation letters from my professors. Yet I'm worried about how to solve the GPA.

On 10/25/2018 at 6:25 AM, civitas said:

Well, I'm still confusing about locating myself. I have a GPA score which seems to be ridiculous (4 in the first year, 3 overall average), but that's because I have set up an EdTech startup in China since my sophomore year. My major is Chinese from Beijing Normal University (#2 in Chinese in China), and I can get some recommendation letters from my professors. Yet I'm worried about how to solve the GPA.

The thing about GPA is that you can't do anything about it once a semester is over. The only thing one can do is to get a better GPA (if you're still in school) and/or strengthen other parts of the application. So if I were you, I wouldn't be too worried about the past GPA and try my best on SoP and WS. Of course, it's easier said than done since the application season can stress you out in many different ways... But still.

1 hour ago, EAstudies said:

The thing about GPA is that you can't do anything about it once a semester is over. The only thing one can do is to get a better GPA (if you're still in school) and/or strengthen other parts of the application. So if I were you, I wouldn't be too worried about the past GPA and try my best on SoP and WS. Of course, it's easier said than done since the application season can stress you out in many different ways... But still.