PhD in Comp Lit (or American Lit) with a BS and Masters in Engineering

Hear me out,

I am a current MSE Masters student who has always been passionate about English. Due to family uh guidance I went on the engineering route but I am dreading graduating and working in the industry for the rest of my life. I figure if I secure a position at a great school for Comp Lit maaaybe I could either convince my family on the idea or maybe work and do school part time. 

I would welcome any opinions on my predicament as well as any predictions on my chances given my profile (below):

B.S. in Mechanical Engineering (3.4 GPA)

A+, A, A in my required humanities classes for undergrad (Literature, Sociology, Theory of Sexuality respectively)

Doing a Masters at Cornell (First term so no GPA)

My research and work have been in engineering, so no dice there but I have wrote and performed at some shows at my school.

As far as letters of rec, I can for sure receive a stellar one from my Literature professor as she was the one who suggested pursuing English, but I would have to get the others from my engineering professors or from writing professors that do not remember me all that well.

I got a 170 for the English section in the GRE and a 161 in the Quant (another hint I should have done English haha)

As far as target schools:

Cornell (already going here so maybe it would be easier to transfer?)

Columbia, Harvard (great schools to convince my family)

Like I said I realize that this is a looooong shot, but I really want to give it a try. 

Thanks 

Edited by poboy